Company Updates

Meet ‘n’ Greet 2k14: Welcome, Alohalings!

Lua has welcomed our Alohalings (otherwise known as “interns”) with open arms this summer. They’re great, we love them – and now you get to meet them too!

Nicole Kreutter

07.17.14 - NicoleNicole Kreutter, Princeton University ’15, joins Lua this summer as the Marketing Intern. She’s weird and amazing, like lavender ice cream.

1. Where are you from?
Short answer: Houston. Long answer: I was born in Dallas, moved to New Jersey, then Hong Kong, then Singapore, then Belgium, then Houston, and now my dad’s being relocated to Doha, Qatar.

2. What brought you to Lua?
I met Kohzy at a startup fair in Princeton, and it was fate. What really made me choose Lua was all the time that people put into talking to me about how much they love it here — I got to talk to people from basically all of the departments even before I joined. I just really loved the culture and all the people I met.

3. What have you been working on at Lua?
I’m the Marketing Intern – the first month I helped out on all aspects of marketing (SEM, events, copy), and now I’m focusing on producing content for the company blog. I also support Accounts on all forms of customer success materials.

4. Tell us something that we don’t know about you.
I have four floor-to-ceiling bookshelves in my bedroom at home and they’re all full. I share them with my dad, who takes the top shelves with overflow from his own bookshelves.

Pusheen | Facebook Messenger

5. Since Lua specializes in workplace messaging, we have to ask. What are your texting quirks?
I end a fair amount of my texts with “lol,” and I love the Pusheen stickers on Facebook Messenger. They’re adorable, and they bounce when you send them.

6. What’s your favourite Hawaiian word?

Obviously it’s “ohana” because ohana means family, and family means no one gets left behind. How could it be anything else?

Daniel Chen

07.18.14 - DanDaniel Chen, Princeton University ’16, joins Lua this summer as a Sales/Business Development Intern. He likes penguins.

1. Where are you from?
A lot of places – Connecticut, most recently.

2. What brought you to Lua?
I met Kohzy at an internship fair at Princeton, and Lua seemed more enjoyable than all of the other positions offered to me. I knew that I wanted to work in tech, a rapidly expanding industry. Also, New York City is the place to be, and Lua’s location in Silicon Alley makes it a top-tier place to work.

3. What have you been working on at Lua?
I’ve been working on three main projects in the past few weeks: researching potential clients and channel sales partners for Lua to work with, pulling together contacts for the Sales Department, and working with the Sales team to draft proposals for customers who request more information on the company.

4. Tell us something that we don’t know about you.
I wrote a book on SAT Prep when I was a freshman in college – its sales on Amazon allow me to sustain my chocolate addiction.

07.18.14 - Dan 2

A Smiley Face

5. Since Lua specializes in workplace messaging, we have to ask. What are your texting quirks?
One eccentric habit I have while texting is that I oftentimes replace punctuation with emoticons. So instead of using periods and commas, I use smiley faces and large smiley faces. A text from me might look something like, “Hey : ) How’s it going :D”

6. What’s your favourite Hawaiian word?
“Kukakuka.” It means to share your ideas, to chat. I love sitting down and having a little kukakuka with my friends.

Cindy Horng

07.18.14 - CindyCindy Horng, Wesleyan University ’17, joins Lua this summer as a Sales/Business Development Intern. She agrees that great things come in small packages.

1. Where are you from?
I was born and raised in Thailand, but my parents are from Taiwan and I went to British-curriculum schools.

2. What brought you to Lua?
The awesome waves of life! I was part of a “Digital Wes” programming workshop (link), received a summer internship grant, and was introduced to Lua by the workshop founders. It seemed like a great match from the start – I really liked the product, the people, the culture, the everything – and I love Lua more and more each day.

3. What have you been working on at Lua?
I started off mainly researching potential clients and consolidating contacts for the Sales Department. Now, I’m responsible for posting interesting and engaging content on our social media platforms, i.e. Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Google+ (check us out!). I’ve also begun writing posts for Lua’s blog.

4. Tell us something that we don’t know about you.
I grew up in a household with many pets, including 7 dogs, 26 hamsters, 2 chickens, 3 budgies, and countless fish. I didn’t have them all at the same time, of course! Well, except for the 7 dogs and 2 chickens, who lived together in harmony (most of the time).

07.18.14 - Cindy 3

Disney’s Frozen | Facebook Messenger

5. Since Lua specializes in workplace messaging, we have to ask. What are your texting quirks?
I’m notoriously bad amongst my friends at replying to texts and messages in a timely manner, because I don’t like checking my phone all the time. But when I text back, I text a lot! And my favourite sticker is this one of Olaf on Facebook Messenger – doesn’t he just make you smile?

6. What’s your favourite Hawaiian word?
I really like “lani,” which means sky or heaven, heavenly or spiritual. The word just makes me feel at peace with everything, and I get this wonderful image of a big stretch of openness ahead.

Clayton Klein

07.18.14 - ClayClayton Klein, Washington University in St. Louis ’17, joins Lua this summer as a Sales/Business Development Intern. [His sentence has been redacted.]

1. Where are you from?
Port Washington, New York.

2. What brought you to Lua?
My dad told me about this start-up in the city that I should check out for the summer. I thought it was a cool story, about three 26-year-old friends from college founding a company together. And when I researched Lua, I saw that they had a really good product and a competitive advantage in their field, so it seemed like a great place to work.

3. What have you been working on at Lua?
I’ve been helping the Sales Department with research and building leads. I’ve also recently started expanding on topical messaging subjects for the company blog.

4. Tell us something that we don’t know about you.
I can’t tell you anything that you don’t know because you know me so well. Also, I’m very sarcastic.

07.18.14 - Clay 2

Clay demonstrates the ;( face

5. Since Lua specializes in workplace messaging, what are your texting quirks?
I’m very well-spoken over texts. I’m not super formal, but my grammar is pretty much right – I try to include everything I want to say, so my texts can get a little long. But I think I’m good at texting. My favourite emoticon is the winky-frowny face ;(

7. What’s your favourite Hawaiian word?
“Makai” – it means “toward the ocean,” which sounds deep. Wow, I didn’t even mean to make that pun.

How awesome are our Alohalings? Comment below or email us at blog@getlua.com!

Leave a Reply

