Company Updates

The Interns Are Coming Part 2: Meet the Alohalings

2013Interns

In our last blog post featuring the interns, we were preparing for their arrival by building some really cool hardware. Today, all six of the interns have arrived, and the team couldn’t be happier to have them around. We wanted to give them the opportunity to introduce themselves here.

Zhan

ZHAN HUANG

How did you get started programming? I like computers and building stuff, so programming and a computer science major was the obvious choice.

What did you do over the past few summers?

I was an iOS intern  at Voxy last summer, and took summer classes at NYU the year before. I always take a trip back to China before the summer ends as well to meet up with my family and friends.

Favorite part about the Lua office/culture: Austin’s dog. Too bad he’s not here everyday. Also it nice how the company always has lunch together.

One thing you really want to do before you die? Build either a really popular game, or a real-life castle.

If LUA were an acronym what would it stand for? Linking Up Armies

Hometown: Beijing, China

Favorite Movie: Inception

Vinny

VINCENT TAVERNA

How did you get started programming? Early on I had always been fascinated with computers and ripping apart electronics. But by the time I was 11 years old, I had already put my first website online. It was paid out of my own pocket from allowances, and was more or less a hobby. It ended up making a very large profit, and had 100k visits daily in 2009.

What did you do over the past few summers? A few summers ago I finally put my website to rest after 8 long years. I began getting involved in many hardware mods. Modding the Xbox 360 was very popular among my circle of friends back home. I then took up an interest in java and wrote a few applications for personal use. My father’s financial business often needed technical help, so I have been available at a whim throughout the summer. And most recently I worked on reverse engineering some .nds files and a well known translation project that used python.

Favorite part about the Lua office/culture: The most enticing thing about Lua is that everybody promotes free thought and the goal of learning to  perform best at what each person loves. Not to be emotional, but the atmosphere at Lua could be described with little else than the word “family.”

One thing you really want to do before you die: Before I die I want to make a product that helps or saves lives to such an extent that it creates an everlasting impact on humanity.

If LUA were an acronym what would it stand for? I’ll give you two choices: Ludicrous Underwear Agitations or Leader Utility Analysis.

Hometown: I grew up in Dix Hills, NY. But my hometown today is in Mount Sinai, NY.

Favorite movie: If we’re discussing recent movies, then the answer would be Prometheus.

Albert

ALBERT THOLEN

How did you get started programming? I started programming my freshman year of high school when I took an Intro to Computer Science class. I began messing around with web development tools soon thereafter.

What did you do over the past few summers? Last summer I worked at Lua! But the summer before that I sat on my ass at home.

Favorite part about the Lua office/culture: The free coffee but mostly the free company.

One thing you really want to do before you die: Take a ride on a rocket ship, I guess.

If LUA were an acronym what would it stand for: Lick Urologists Assiduously, of course

Hometown: Great Falls, VA

Favorite Movie: Blade Runner… Primer… Memento… Ach! Who knows, it changes day to day.

Zain

 

ZAIN ALAM

What did you do over the past few summers? Two summers ago, I worked with another startup where I was actually involved on the programming side of things– developing APIs in Python and Javascript, building data visualization tools, and so on. Last summer, I took a bit of a different tack and, with the help of two grants from my alma mater Wesleyan University, conducted research in India and Pakistan for my thesis that followed the diasporic story of my family following the Partition of the subcontinent in 1947.

Favorite part about the Lua office/culture: With its remarkable well-stocked kitchen, there’s never a moment of hunger, thirst, or drowsiness in the Lua office. Definitely helps make a company culture and atmosphere more motivated, positive, and productive, I think!

One thing you really want to do before you die: Take a look at the earth from outer space. I’m a big sucker for the Earthrise and Blue Marble photos and think seeing it for yourself would be an incomparable experience.

If LUA were an acronym what would it stand for: Live it Up, America!

Hometown: Kennesaw, GA

Favorite Movie: Eraserhead

Ricky

RICKY STEWART

How did you get started programming? While I’ve always had an interest in programming, I didn’t get started seriously until my first quarter at UChicago.

What did you do over the past few summers? This is my first software engineering position!

Favorite part about the Lua office/culture: The people! Lua is a great group of friendly, brilliant, and hard-working people.

One thing you really want to do before you die: Build something that has a lasting positive effect on people’s lives.  Also, I’ve never seen Frasier and I hear good things.

If LUA were an acronym what would it stand for: LUA’s Unprecedentedly Advantageous

Hometown: Plainfield, IL

Favorite Movie: Depending on my mood, Forrest Gump or Anchorman.

Evan

EVAN STRASNICK

How did you get started programming? In high school I never had access to CS instruction, and I entered college without it even on my radar. I ended up taking a class freshman year of college and fell in love with it.

What did you do over the past few summers? I studied abroad in Toledo, Spain, the past summer, and before that worked in as a research assistant in a medical school. I also bum around a lot and hang at the beach.

Favorite part about the Lua office/culture: There’s a hot sauce collection in the break room.

One thing you really want to do before you die: Stay in an ice hotel, indoor skydive, have a drink with Samuel L. Jackson.

If LUA were an acronym what would it stand for? Lukewarm Underwear Alliance

Hometown: Virginia Beach, Virginia

Favorite Movie: Kill Bill

Leave a Reply

