Enterprise Mobility / Tech

DJ Caruso: A director with love for technology

Yesterday, it was reported that DJ Caruso would likely be named director of a Cross Creek financed adaptation of the Lawrence Block novel, A Walk Among the Tombstones. Caruso most recently directed I am Number Four, Eagle Eye, and Disturbia. We’re excited about the news because we like DJ Caruso and his love for on-set technology.

Caruso became a big proponent of using technology on his sets while working on I am Number Four. In February, during a visit to the Apple store in Soho, he told the story of how the iPad became a central part of his production process:

“I got it, I don’t want to say as a toy, but then I realized about a week into prep that my storyboards were coming on it, my previs was on it, my script was on it, I don’t carry my script anymore. I started getting emails from two of my storyboard artists who work in Los Angeles and I have this application where I can mark up the boards – I’m a terrible drawer – and I can mark up the boards and send them back. It just became this amazing production tool.”

On Caruso’s set, the iPad was also used as much more than a productivity tool. For instance, the film’s main character is able to control light through his hands, and to accomplish this, the actor was wired with a flashlight contraption that was actually controlled by an iPad off screen. Caruso spoke about seeing all of the actors on his set using iPads and went on to talk about the affinity that he shares with Steven Spielberg for the device:

“In fact, I talked to Steven, because I was sending him something from my iPad and he sent something back from his iPad and I thought, ‘Oh you got one!’ and he’s like, ‘Yeah.’ and I told him all these things I was using and he was like, ‘Which apps do you have?’ so here you are sending back which apps you have to Steven Spielberg. everyone’s starting to use it because it really is an amazing tool.”

iPads are finding their way onto a bunch of Hollywood sets, and it’s only the tip of the iceberg. We’d love to work with DJ in the future, and are always excited to see film makers using technology to improve the creative process.

Leave a Reply

